Normal

Stella just turned 15 weeks this Sunday. She’s still petite, weighing in at a whopping 10 pounds. She’s still in 0-3 month clothes and size 1 diapers. She’s got tiny little bird legs and arms and the teeniest little tummy (which makes her hungry all the time). She doesn’t yet sleep through the night, isn’t able to sit up, roll over consistently, laugh or grab at/rattle her toys. BabyCenter, What To Expect When You’re Expecting and TheBump all tell me I should be worried. I have to admit, I am a little bummed that she’s behind her friends in both size and development, but she has come so far. I need to revel in her accomplishments and look at the positive side:

  • She’s gained a little over 5 pounds size birth
  • She’s grown tons of blonde hair in the last few weeks
  • She’s had many growth spurts (physical and developmental)
  • She loves to smile and is starting to coo
  • She recognizes faces and voices and follows things fluidly
  • She poops and pees like a champ (at least 3 blow outs a week)
  • She’s getting so long, her pants and shirts are getting short for her
  • She has exclusively breastfed since day 1 — no formula or cereal for her!
  • She grabs at my face and loves feeling textures
  • She has a mighty little grip
  • She loves playing with toys and looking at lights
  • She loves music and smiles when I sing to her
  • She can see much farther away (across the room at times)
  • She only gets up 2 times a night (compared to 4-5)
  • She isn’t colicky and is quickly soothed with a cuddle, position change or binky
  • She gets to fit in her little clothes longer (and I get to enjoy her as a peanut longer)
  • She loves to be in the sunshine and in the water (just like Mommy)
  • She smiles SO big when I sing “Patty Cake”
  • She is so ticklish on her feet and the back of her neck
  • She loves seeing the world and prefers to be carried facing out
  • She’s getting a lot better head control
  • She’s finally sleeping in a crib at daycare! Lately it’s been for 2-3 hours.

She’s learning so much and has grown so big since birth. I need to step back and realize that every baby is different. People come in all shapes and sizes. She was a little early and was small in utero — and is still small now. She’s perfect in every way and I’m so incredibly blessed to have such a beautiful, healthy little girl. She is the apple of my eye and makes my day, every day.

So what if she’s not considered “normal” to others’ standards. Normal is overrated.

I’ll take perfection, quirkiness and pure love any day over worrying about milestones.

I love you to the moon and back, Stella Claire. Mom and Dad are SO proud of you!

Leave a comment